General Info | Payment | Info for Skaters | CoachesFrançais

Lessons for STARSkaters and CanSkate+ skaters

Private and semi-private lessons are taught by our professional coaches which is how a skater learns and hones their advanced figure skating skills. By taking lessons, a skater is able to prepare for competitions or tests (standards developed and evaluated by Skate Canada Evaluators). Skaters may also take lessons and not participate in any formal testing program or competitions.

Private and semi-private lessons are arranged directly between the skater and a coach. For a list of coaches at the Clarence Creek Figure Skating Club, visit the coaches section. Our Coaches teach all the disciplines of figure skating and are paid directly by the parents or skater.

Choosing a coach is a tough decision for any parent. Some of us have been there and some of us are approaching this difficult decision. To help you with your decision, please keep in mind: if your child has been taught by a Coach during CanSkate and enjoyed their time, then consider that Coach; ask a parent you know, if they recommend a Coach from previous experience; solicit input from one of our Coaches; hear what our Coach's representative or any Executive Committee Member have to say. We are more than willing to help answer your questions and help you make the best decision possible for your child. You can also visit the selecting a coach section of our website.

Private lessons are usually offered in 15 minute segments. Most skating sessions are 30 or 45 minutes long. An average skater could be on the ice for the 30 or 45 minutes and receive a lesson for 15 minutes of that time. The remainder of the session would be spent practicing skills taught during the lesson.

The number, frequency and schedule of lessons are worked out between you and the Coach. Allowing your child to have a lesson and then practice what was taught, is a critical step in their ability to work by themselves and develop their skating abilities.

Info. Générale | Paiement | Info. patineurs | Entraîneuses English

Leçons pour nos patineurs (euses) STAR et CanSkate+

Nos entraîneuses professionnelles offrent des leçons privées et semi-privées. Ce sont pendant ces leçons que la patineuse/ le patineur apprend et perfectionne ses habiletés en patinage artistique. Elle/Il peut aussi mieux se préparer pour les compétitions et les tests (normes développées et évaluées par des évaluateurs certifiés par Patinage Canada). Les patineuses/patineurs peuvent prendre des leçons même s'ils ne participent pas aux « tests » ou aux compétitions.

Les leçons privées ou semi-privées sont arrangées directement entre la patineuse/ le patineur et l'entraîneuse. Pour une liste d'entraîneuses au club de patin de Clarence Creek, visitez la section d'entraîneuses. Elles enseignent toutes les disciplines du patinage artistique et sont payées par les parents ou la patineuse/ le patineur.

Le choix d'une entraîneuse est souvent une décision difficile pour les parents. Afin de vous aider avec votre décision, voici quelques conseils : est-ce que votre enfant a aimé le style d'enseignement d'une entraîneuse durant le PatinagePlus; demandez à un parent que vous connaissez, s'ils recommandent une entraîneuse; sollicitez l'avis d'une de nos entraîneuses ; écoutez ce que la représentante de nos entraîneuses ou les membres du comité exécutif ont à dire. Nous voulons vous aider et répondre à vos questions pour que vous puissiez prendre la meilleure décision pour votre enfant. Vous pouvez aussi visiter la section comment sélectionner une entraîneuse de notre site web.

Les leçons privées ou semi-privées sont habituellement offertes en blocs de 15 minutes. La plupart des sessions de patinage durent environ 30 ou 45 minutes. Une patineuse/ un patineur qui est sur la glace pendant ce temps, recevrait une leçon de 15 minutes et pratiquerait les habiletés montrées pour le reste de la session.

Le nombre, la fréquence et l'horaire des leçons sont établis entre vous et l'entraîneuse. Permettre à votre enfant d'avoir une leçon et puis de lui laisser pratiquer ce qui a été enseigné de façon autonome sont des étapes critiques au développement des habitudes de travail ainsi qu'à ses habiletés de patinage.